Minecraft Story Mode Episode One Dropping in October

Minecraft Story Mode

Minecraft Story Mode begins its maiden voyage this October in the first episode of block-clobbering silliness.

Telltale Games and Mojang have pulled the drape from the altar, revealing the full details on when which console crowd can enjoy their conjoined episodic adventure. Entitled Order of the Stone, this maiden voyage will set your choice of boy or girl Jesse against dangerous enemies with his/her cast of friends at their side. October 13 is when the PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, Xbox 360 and PC versions can be unboxed followed by iOS and Android marketplaces on October 15. Wii U and PS Vita versions are undated but said to be coming a bit later.

Minecraft Story Mode
One of the lightest discs you’ll ever buy.

Speaking of unboxing, Minecraft Story Mode will also be having a somewhat unorthodox disc release as well when it releases on October 27. The first episode will be the only one written onto the disc while the other episodes have to be downloaded in order to be playable. However, the disc will also contain those permissions, acting as a physical season pass of sorts, that will allow for the entire season to be downloaded. The first, disc-based episode will not be locked to a single system, but it is unclear if the permissions for the other episodes will be locked once the episodes are downloaded on one profile. Retail discs of Minecraft Story Mode will go for $29.99 where as the all-digital season pass for Telltale properties has traditionally been $24.99.

As far as Telltale’s other running properties, namely Tales From the Borderlands and Game of Thrones, no word on their final episodes escaped with the Minecraft Story Mode news. Are you interested in this trip into the nameless crafting world?

[toggle title=”Press Release”]Leading and award-winning developer and publisher of digital entertainment Telltale Games, and world-renowned game developer Mojang, today revealed the world premiere details for Minecraft: Story Mode – A Telltale Games Series. Episode 1: ‘The Order of the Stone,’ the first of five episodes in the season, will premiere digitally worldwide on Tuesday, October 13th this year. The episode will be available at launch on PC and Mac from the Telltale Online Store, Steam, and other digital distribution services, on the PlayStation®Network for PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3, and on the Xbox Games Store for Xbox One® and Xbox 360®. The season premiere will be available for compatible iOS devices via the App Store and for compatible Android-based devices via Google Play and the Amazon Appstore starting Thursday, October 15th. The series will also be coming to Wii U and PlayStation Vita. Minecraft: Story Mode – A Telltale Games Series season pass disc will be available at retail in North America on Tuesday, October 27th, and in Europe on Friday, October 30th. Retail platforms at launch will include Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3 in North America; and PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One and Xbox 360 in Europe. The retail edition of Minecraft: Story Mode will ship with the premiere episode on the disc, and will grant access to the subsequent four episodes in the season as they become available to download via online updates. In Minecraft: Story Mode, playing as either a male or female hero named ‘Jesse,’ you’ll embark on a perilous adventure across the Overworld, through the Nether, to the End, and beyond. You and your friends revere the legendary Order of the Stone: Warrior, Redstone Engineer, Griefer, and Architect; slayers of the Ender Dragon. While at EnderCon in hopes of meeting Gabriel the Warrior, Jesse’s friends discover that something is wrong… something dreadful. Terror is unleashed, and you must set out on a quest to find The Order of the Stone if you are to save your world from oblivion. The season will feature Patton Oswalt as male Jesse, Catherine Taber as female Jesse, Brian Posehn, Ashley Johnson, Scott Porter, Martha Plimpton, Dave Fennoy, Corey Feldman, Billy West, and Paul Reubens. Additional casting details for the season are yet to be announced. [/toggle]

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Don't Miss These Posts